• LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google


Notice of Public Comment

Aroostook, Washington, Penobscot, Piscataquis, and Hancock Counties (5 County Local Workforce Development Area known as the Northeastern Workforce Development Board)

Aroostook & Washington Counties (Workforce Local Area 1) and Hancock, Penobscot, & Piscataquis Counties (Workforce Local Area 2) are consolidating their Workforce Development efforts.

The Chief Elected Officials (CEOs) for the five counties have agreed to consolidate two Local Workforce Development Areas.  Their decision is grounded in maximizing resources and services to both job seekers and businesses throughout all five counties. This new organizational model with allow more to be done in all areas of the region. 

Combining efforts will decrease costs by reducing staff and eliminating redundancies in auditing, board development and strategic planning.  The consolidation will also increase resources available to develop activities geared to educating the public about the workforce system and building stronger relationships with job seekers, partners and businesses throughout the region.  Increasing education and training opportunities to urban, suburban and rural populations and providing businesses with qualified workers is the mandate of the workforce development system and this consolidation is the most effective way to do this.

Under the United States Workforce Innovation Opportunity Act of 2014 (WIOA), Chapter 2, Section 106b - Local Areas, the law requires the CEOs to post their intent to consolidate the two local areas into one for public comment. The five county area estimates a start date April 1, 2016. Please email your comments to Joanna Russell at [email protected] or send them to Joanna Russell, P.O. Box 737, Bangor, ME 04401 no later than March 28, 2016.  If you have any questions contact Ms. Russell at 207-992-0770.